Dissidents of the Bloc québécois: no new party… for now

News 6 March, 2018
  • Photo archive
    The seven mps who resigned the parliamentary press gallery in Ottawa during an outing last June.

    QMI agency

    Tuesday, march 6, 2018 20:41

    Tuesday, march 6, 2018 20:43

    Look at this article

    OTTAWA-The mp who had resigned from the Bloc québécois (BQ) Rheal Fortin said, Monday, that the seven mps who have slammed the door of the party do not rule out the idea of founding a new party.

    • READ ALSO: They will lobby for Ouellet is giving its place
    • READ ALSO: Ouellet remains as leader of the Bloc despite the departures
    • READ ALSO: Bloc québécois: the group of seven persist and sign

    The press secretary of Mr. Fortin has confirmed, in the evening, that the members who resigned are studying many options. Basing a new party sovereigntist is not planned for the moment, but is not excluded.

    The group of seven has mainly the intention to move on to something else, now that the leader of the Bloc québécois Martine Ouellet rejected the idea of resigning from his position. Mr. Fortin has not the intention to demand his resignation or to demand that the vote of confidence expected in may 2019 ahead.

    Le Devoir reported Tuesday that the electoral district associations bloquistes appear divided, while some support the chief Martine Ouellet, while others called for his resignation or a vote of confidence.

    Last week, seven of the ten members of the Bloc, Michel Boudrias, Rhéal Fortin, Simon Marcil, Monique Pauzé, Louis Plamondon, Luc Thériault and Gabriel Ste-Marie, quit the party caucus to sit as an independent.
    Martine Ouellet, however, has stuck to her position and has received the support of the national office of the party, Sunday. She then ensured that the door is open if members wish to return to the fold.