Formula 1: Lewis Hamilton wins the Belgian Grand Prix

Sport 27 August, 2017

Photo: John Thys Agence France-Presse
Lewis Hamilton was ahead by 2.4 seconds in the Ferrari and Sebastian Vettel.

Belgium — Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes won Sunday the Grand Prix of Belgium Formula One, scoring a fifth victory this season.


He was ahead by 2.4 seconds in the Ferrari and Sebastian Vettel, and by the 10.8 seconds the Red Bull of Daniel Ricciardo.


With about 10 laps to race, the German came close to snatch the lead at the British, placing himself at her side in a long passage right. Hamilton, however, has managed to take the turn in first, narrowly.


In the drivers ‘ standings, ahead of Vettel stands at seven points ahead of Hamilton. Vettel has four wins and as many second places. Hamilton was twice awarded the second position.


The Quebec Lance Stroll has finished 11th at the wheel of his Williams.


Kimi Raikkonen has finished fourth in his Ferrari, ahead of the Mercedes of Valtteri Bottas.


Nico Hulkenberg (Renault), Romain Grosjean (Haas), Felipe Massa (Williams), Esteban Ake (Force India) and Carlos Sainz (Toro Rosso) completed the top 10.


The next race will be the Italian Grand Prix at Monza, next weekend.