Resignation in block of 10 members of the board of the McGill university health Centre

News 10 July, 2017
  • Photo Le Journal de Montréal, Ben Pelosse

    QMI agency

    Monday, 10 July, 2017 16:25

    Monday, 10 July, 2017 16:25

    Look at this article

    MONTREAL | the independent members of The board of directors of the McGill university health Centre (MUHC), which represent more than half the board of the institution, have announced their resignation on Monday, deploring the refusal of the minister Barrette to “initiate the dialogue” with them.

    The directors who have resigned are the chairman of the board, Claudio Bussandri, Gail Campbell, Marie Giguère, David Laidley, Teresa Pacheco, Robert Rabinovitch, Janis Riven, Glenn Rourke, Melissa Sonberg and Norman Spencer.

    “To make evidence of effectiveness, and to act in the best interests of patients and their family as well as the men and women who work at the MUHC, it is essential that we can establish a regular dialogue and productive with the minister and with his officials, and that we all work in collaboration with each other in order to achieve our common objectives,” wrote the group in a press release Monday afternoon.

    “However, the minister Barrette has refused for many months to engage in dialogue with us; it ignores our requests to meet with him, he does not respond to letters that we sent and refuses to send us the content of documents, such as reports Joshi and Desjardins before releasing it to the public several months after their presentation.”

    They say to be currently in an impasse, and therefore in the impossibility of “focus on what is in the best interests of the MUHC”. “It is for this reason that we have all decided to resign […].”

    Remain on the board of directors, two appointed members, six nominated members and one observer member.